At Roberts & Harris PC, our Raleigh car accident attorneys know that getting hurt in a vehicle collision caused by a negligent driver is one of the most unexpected events that can occur in someone’s life.
Unfortunately, it is impossible to account for the actions of impaired, distracted, speeding, or otherwise negligent drivers on our North Carolina roadways. While being in a traffic crash can be life changing on its surface, what happens if the at-fault driver leaves the scene?
Although unimaginable, it happens more than you think. Last year, the American Automobile Association (AAA) estimated over 737,000 hit and run crashes occurred throughout the U.S. This means, on average, a hit and run accident occurs every 43 seconds somewhere across the country.
This leads to the bigger question: Who is liable for the accident victim’s property damage, medical bills, lost wages, and other expenses if no one at the scene can be held accountable?
Our Raleigh personal injury attorneys can help you understand your legal rights and options, starting with a free consultation.
How Can I Pursue Financial Compensation After a Hit and Run Accident in North Carolina?
Hit-and-run drivers leave crash scenes for varying reasons. They may include driving without a license or insurance because they have an outstanding warrant for their arrest, operating a vehicle while impaired, or transporting drugs.
The reality is, hit and run drivers know the police are going to respond to the scene of the crash, so they will do all they can to be as far away as possible before law enforcement arrives.
Even when the injured party can provide information about the hit-and-run driver or their vehicle, he or she is typically never found.
What does this mean for the injured party?
All North Carolina drivers are required to have uninsured motorist coverage. When someone is hurt in an accident with a hit-and-run driver, the injured party’s insurance coverage can be used as a supplement to pay for the damages.
This means you can pursue your personal insurance coverage for the expenses that resulted from the crash, up to the policy limits.
What are the Minimum Liability Coverage Policy Limits in North Carolina?
Your vehicle insurance coverage may differ from another driver who carries only the minimum required by law, which includes:
- $30,000 for bodily injury liability per person per accident.
- $60,000 for bodily injury liability total per accident.
- $25,000 of property damage liability, per accident.
Why Do I Need a North Carolina Hit and Run Accident Attorney if I Am Pursuing My Insurance Coverage for Damages?
If you have been injured in a hit-and-run accident in North Carolina, you probably expect your insurance provider to do the right thing and pay for your complete damages.
Unfortunately, many accident victims soon realize that is not the case.
Your insurance provider is going to want the same level of evidence a car accident attorney would provide during these cases, which will include absolute proof that someone else caused your crash, injuries, and damages. They are simply not going to take your word for it.
Next, they will require you to gather all medical records, proof of injuries, necessary time away from work, and other evidence that supports the fact your financial recovery needs are what you claim them to be.
After you work tirelessly to build your case, the insurance company may still undervalue your claim — or even deny it outright.
We can help pursue a fair settlement that meets your recovery needs, so you can focus on your physical and emotional rehabilitation while we manage the financial requirements of your claim.
Contact Our Experienced Hit and Run Accident Attorneys in Raleigh, North Carolina
Contact our skilled Raleigh auto accident lawyers at Roberts & Harris PC today at 919-249-5006 or online to learn how we can help provide exceptional legal solutions for your unique needs today.